Alternatives to ASUS E35M1-I

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppmax

Contributor
Hi--

Noob here, just 2 posts...I've seen lots of folks using this MB and I am wondering if there are any similarly configured alternatives that use the Intel NIC vs the Realtek on this unit?

Basically I'm looking for low-power ITX, 4-6 SATA3 ports, Intel NIC, with support for 8GB RAM. I'd like to pair this with 4 1 or 2TB SATA3 drives, and use a PicoPSU 160:
http://www.mini-box.com/picoPSU-160-XT-192W-Adapter-Power-Kit

Also: how does one determine if the power-on HD spin-up draw will exceed the capacity of this power supply? I'd like to use a smaller Pico PSU if possible.

Lastly: I've been experimenting with the 64bit 8.2BETA3 and it seems to have strange console output problems where the console does not scroll--console updates appear on one line at the bottom of the console. I have also verified this on my other ITX unit (the Intel Atom D2500).

Thanks much--
PP

ProtoSD

MVP
Also: how does one determine if the power-on HD spin-up draw will exceed the capacity of this power supply? I'd like to use a smaller Pico PSU if possible.

Probably the best way is using an oscilloscope, but that's only if you're really anal about seeing "exactly" what is happening. I happen to have a scope, but I've never been concerned enough to check the spin up spikes.

I'm curious why you want to use the smaller rated PicoPSU?

I use the PicoPSU 160, with a Supermicro MiniITX Atom MB and 5 disks. It's been running great for almost 2 years now.

I would recommend sticking with the 160 even if you anticipate using less power. It gives you more flexibility if you decide to go with a different motherboard or add more disks down the road. I also have an older PicoPSU I bought to use with a ??? (ugh, my brain!) an older miniITX board. I'd later wished I had bought the higher rated power supply because my needs changed.