Grub and other Boot Frustrations

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krowvin

Explorer
For all that is holy, I've been having problems. Partly because i'm a rookie, partly because I haven't had to touch my server in MONTHS.

I will admit I've been committing the holy sin in fear that I knew my server wouldn't reboot. My install drive failed some months back, but having it on a mirror I thought everything would be okay. In other words, something failed and I didn't fix it as fast as I should have.

Somewhere down the line everything went to heck and back. I've been using the Sandisk Cruzer Fit 16GB since day one. I read online that several variations were made and that they weren't 100% the same size. So I got in the habit of buying them two to a batch.

Various problems up til now:
1) on a system reboot I would have to restart several times (possibly ruining the life of my pools/drives) before the drive would actually boot. I've spent the last few days trying to load freenas onto a new USB (Several actually) and upload my config. I'm at a stable point as of now. The system is running and all of the drives seem to be functional with no alerts as of yet. See photos 1 and 2

PHOTO 1
upload_2016-8-12_14-49-55.png

I did complete a resilver a few days ago as drive 14 was failing gloriously, all is well in that department it seems.

PHOTO 2
upload_2016-8-12_14-50-35.png

I WOULD LOVE to create a mirrored boot drive, however, I'm scared to even create a second boot USB at this point. I tried a few days ago when I got to this point and that failed as well. Classes start back up in a few days and I really don't have the time to be dumping it to fiddling with this at the moment. I've got a config backup, and while my server is technically production (I use it daily for more than just movies) I could restore in the event of this drive failing

For my sanity, I clicked the "Verify Install" button under System > Update
upload_2016-8-12_14-45-22.png