GNOME3 ports taking forever to install

Status
Not open for further replies.

Happymanny1986

Dabbler
Hello all,

I'm not sure if this goes here or not, but I am new to freeNAS, and I wondered if anyone has experienced this issue:

I decided to try to install gnome using ports so that I could have a graphical interface to manage one of my jails. I originally tried to install gnome2, but I couldn't get it to even begin an installation, and it would quit almost as soon as I typed "make install clean", so I figured I'd try gnome 3 instead.

I ran make install config on the gnome3 folder, and it led me through what seemed like 100 different configuration options before hanging up on something and aborting the installation. I decided to try again and used make config-recursive so that I could take care of all the configuration prompts first then let the server do it's thing. about 50 configuration questions later, I was able to do make install clean again, but that was around 9:30 AM this morning. Its already past 11:30AM now and it's still running the same installation. It isn't stuck or anything - I can still see that it's installing lots of packages - but how long should it really take to install Gnome? I'm worried I screwed something up - it is taking forever, all the fans are going full tilt in the server and making a ton of noise, and when I checked thermals, my CPU is showing 59 degrees C, which is within normal operating temps, but still nearly twice as hot as idle temps. Essentially whatever it's doing is causing the server to utilize 100% cpu capacity.

If it helps my build is as follows:

CPU - Xeon 1276v3
Mobo - Supermicro X10SLL-F
Memory - 32GB Crucial ECC memory
HDDs - 6x 4TB Toshiba 7200rpm in raid 10 connected to a LSI9211 running in IT mode (p16 firmware).

This seems far from normal, has anyone else experienced anything similar?