General direction for 'new' setup utilizing FreeNAS in lieu of DrivePool

Status
Not open for further replies.

VideoBill

Dabbler
Good Day all,

I am new to FreeNAS, an OK server person and overall general techie...now that you know a little about my skill set here is some hardware info,

I currently am attempting to reduce the 'size' of my setup (hardware). My current setup is basically the following:
Sitting in a norco 3U standard rackmount case is,
1 - Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 6.0 Motherboard
2 - AMD FX 6300 6-core 3.5 GHz CPU
3 - 16 GB RAM (8 Usable)
4 - A DVD/RW and a Blu-Ray/RW drive
5 - 2 Mushkin MKNSSDRE512GB drives (1 for OS the other everything else)
6 - Running WHS 2011 SP1 (64 Bit), Drivepool for WHS

My pool sits in 2 Norco 4U cases (4220 and 4224 and another 4224 in the wings)
and consists of the following pooled Seagate drives, 5x ST2000DL03, 1x ST2000DM001, 25x ST4000DM000 and 2x ST3000BM001 totaling 107TB with 10.2TB available

I have just purchased a new server (1U) and has the following,
1 - Tyan B5397G24 Motherboard
2 - 2x Intel Xeon 5150 Dual-Core 2.66 GHz CPUs
3 - 2 GB Ram (will be upgrading to 32GB? Can go to 128GB)
4 - a Slim DVD/RW to be replaced with a BR/RW
5 - a Hard Drive of unknown size to be replaced by the 2 SSDs from existing server
6 - NO OS installed but was thinking of staying with WHS
- This case comes with 4 Hot-swap drive bays which I will be using for general data

I will be looking for Motherboards for the 3 Norco 42xx cases and installing FreeNAS on them then connecting them to my network

Now for the actual question(s):
1 - Am I heading in the right direction?
2 - What should I consider/know before setting up hardware
3 - What kind of a time am I in for when converting (if possible) my existing Drivepool setup to multiple NAS setups?

Any help on this will be warmly received and my thanks go out to anyone who helps in advance.