GELI: replacing a failed disk with one of a bigger size.

Status
Not open for further replies.

panz

Guru
So, I'm still studying GELI and its behavior in the event of a disk failure.

Situation:
1) you have, say, a 6 disks Raidz2 pool, encrypted.
2) Something happens to one disk, including GELI metadata corruption (see https://bugs.freenas.org/issues/2375#ticket).
3) you replace the failed disk with another one of bigger size.

Now you have to: resilver the pool, but before that, you have to input the correct GELI metadata (remember: you've lost them - for some reason - in step #2). GELI restore will not work, because it can't find the metadata portion of the disk (because now the size is different).

At this point, I'm lost :) (using GELI resize won't work too, because the disk is not in the pool).

Dusan

Guru
Situation:
1) you have, say, a 6 disks Raidz2 pool, encrypted.
2) Something happens to one disk, including GELI metadata corruption (see https://bugs.freenas.org/issues/2375#ticket).
3) you replace the failed disk with another one of bigger size.

Now you have to: resilver the pool, but before that, you have to input the correct GELI metadata (remember: you've lost them - for some reason - in step #2).
This doesn't make any sense. Why do you care about the geli metadata on the failed disk? It absolutely doesn't matter -- you are going to replace it anyway. Every disk has it's own independent geli metadata.
You can do the replacement in the GUI, there is no need for any CLI magic, no need to "input the correct GELI metadata", just follow the manual and it works: Replacing a Failed Drive in an Encrypted Pool

panz

Guru
If you simulate a metadata "accident" by committing <geli clear /dev/daX> on the vdevs you're still safe if you did a backup of your geli metadata (<geli backup _some_provider_here>, a function that FreeNAS is still missing).