Fresh Install Issue 9.3 or 9.10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jwesty

Cadet
Hey all, I am new to FreeNAS and having an issue loading 9.3 or 9.10. I can however load 10 beta 2.,, I am using the 2 USB method the same way for all 3 but if I try to install 9.3 or 9.10 they both stop on install.

I get an error saying that there is "No suitable dump device". I thought it was an issue with the USB and being corrupt or something but then tried it with 10 beta 2 and it installed flawlessly. I was able to setup volumes, permissions everything was working but if I can't do Plex on 10 then it defeats the purpose.

I would just run 10 but I am building this for a cloud storage and Plex Server and I see that 10 won't run Plex yet. Any help is much appreciated.

System Setup:

i7 Intel Processer
Asus motherboard
8 GB Crucial RAM
2 x 2TB WD Reds
120 GB SSD for Plex Jail.

Thanks,
J

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Hey all, I am new to FreeNAS and having an issue loading 9.3 or 9.10. I can however load 10 beta 2.,, I am using the 2 USB method the same way for all 3 but if I try to install 9.3 or 9.10 they both stop on install.

I get an error saying that there is "No suitable dump device". I thought it was an issue with the USB and being corrupt or something but then tried it with 10 beta 2 and it installed flawlessly. I was able to setup volumes, permissions everything was working but if I can't do Plex on 10 then it defeats the purpose.

I would just run 10 but I am building this for a cloud storage and Plex Server and I see that 10 won't run Plex yet. Any help is much appreciated.

System Setup:

i7 Intel Processer
Asus motherboard
8 GB Crucial RAM
2 x 2TB WD Reds
120 GB SSD for Plex Jail.

Thanks,
J
Can you show us the complete screen output you see when you get the "no suitable dump device" error?

gpsguy

btw, even if you get over this hump, you'll need additional memory for Plex. 8GB is the minimum requirement for a basic filer.

Jwesty

Cadet