FreeNAS - should I?

muchgooder

Dabbler
I am a software developer / geek that is looking for a bit of advice on which direction I should go in. I currently have 3 zyxel storage units (2 drives each) and a sff pc that serves as my windows server (it serves various utilities - weather station software, sql for kodi, sabnzbd services, etc). It's by no means a high-usage environment. The vast majority of the drives are being used as shares - pictures, home movies, tv shows, movies.

I stumbled across an 8 bay supermicro NAS with 64 gig of ram so I thought I would use that to eliminate the the need for the 3 devices and a pc. I've been reading up on FreeNAS as it involves a lot of areas in which I am a novice. After doing a lot of reading I had a bit of a revelation: is this right for me?

My needs:

- Lots of storage space.
- Speed (at least fast enough to stream 4k movies, which isn't a problem in my current little setup)
- The ability to create VMs. I would especially like the ability to create a windows vm and have it reside on an ssd in the NAS (all other drives are SATA)

What I don't really have a need for is redundancy. Anything that is important (pictures and home movies) are backed up to blu ray.

Sooooooooo - is FreeNAS right for me? Maybe use it without RAID?

Meyers

Patron
The 8-bay sounds like it would work fine. I recommend using ECC memory with FreeNAS (but only if you care about your data). I'd also recommend doing a good long burn-in process using a memory testing app (like memtest86).

Then you could use drives like these (enterprise drives or WD Reds at the very least). Do a burn-in procedure on them as well. Search the forums for this (I think it's a sticky post).

Some Supermicro boards have SATA DOM slots. If yours doesn't, you MIGHT be able to get away with a single small SSD for the OS.