SOLVED FreeNAS seems to always die, lots of problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bunter2000

Dabbler
Hi all,
I am new to freenas in an operating system sense, I use the GUI and setup my network and thats it. I have been using Freenas for some years and in that time I was getting many harddrive failures and when I change the harddrive with a new one I test the old drive and it works perfectly in a windows environment, in fact 2 0f the 3 drives freenas says faulty I am using on a day to day basis and the third in an external HDD box. They have never missed a beat since.

In the past I have changed memory (16Gb) then I got sick of the constant faults been emailed to me I decided to bite the bullet and change the mobo, ram and CPU. The faults and issues do not tell me anything about the problems, maybe for you linux gurus it is simple but I do not have a clue. Some errors are indicating bad sectors or unable to read a sector, or one drive has failed and has been stopped but the data integrity is still intact. I log into the GUI and check the drives but freenas tells me all drives are OK and nothing has degraded and all datasets are OK.

AT THE MOMENT the recent problems are:

It takes forever to open any one of the shares, when the share opens into one of the datasets I then get a delayed list of all of the sub-folders and if I select or right click on any sub-folder it takes a few minutes to open and if I try to run the file directly it wont open and crashes windows file explorer so after re logging into the sub-folder I copy the same file to my windows PC (which also takes forever) I can open and run the program with no issues.