freeNAS randomly restarts

Status
Not open for further replies.

roquemore92

Cadet
I am fairly new to freeNAS and freeBSD so this may be something simple I have overlooked, but thanks in advance for any help I get.

I just put together this freeNAS build:
  • AMD A8-6600k
  • Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-UP4
  • 32GB Corsair DDR3 1333 memory (non-ECC, ran MemTest twice for 24+ hours each time with no errors)
  • 3x3TB Seagate Barracuda
  • 1x3TB WD Black
  • Dual port Intel NIC
  • XFX 850w 80+ silver PSU (overkill but was laying around. Using until I can get a smaller wattage gold or platinum PSU)
  • All in a Rosewill RSV-L4411 (all the HDDs are in a hot-swap cage.
  • Booting freeNAS 9.2.0 from Verbatim 4GB flash drive
So I have set up a ZFS volume, a few datasets, a CIFS share, users, and am able to access the shares just fine.

The problem is ocassionaly the box simply resets. I don't mean a restart where it goes through shut down and turns on again. It's like the reset button is being pressed, it just goes off then starts up again. This seems to happen most frequently during long write periods (trying to copy about 2TB of video files to it) but has happened a couple of times while not reading or writing. I had had a few errors previously (can't remember exactly), that I seemed to fix by replacing 2 of the SATA cables.

Any ideas on what might be causing these resets? Thanks!

bigphil

Patron
I just had the EXACT same issue with a cheap temporary setup I had. During a big write operation, it would just reset and occasionally it would happen randomly too. It turned out to be the motherboard. A dimm slot had gone haywire. I know you said memtest checked out ok, but the same symptom leads me to believe its likely a motherboard issue. I've see power supplies do crazy stuff like that too.

roquemore92

Cadet
I can test with pulling out one stick of memory at a time to try and find a bad slot. I also had a friend suggest checking the motherboards BIOS power settings.