FreeNAS questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

expansion

Cadet
Hi,

This is my first attempt to check FreeNAS+ZFS+iSCSI.

Everything was performed in VMWare Workstation. FreeNAS was configured as it follows:

2 cores of 3770K
8GB RAM out of 32GB
8x 3GB virtual disks stored on a Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD (500mb/s+ write/read)

I've created a 3GB zvol(if I remember correctly, this was the maximum possible?!) on a RAIDZ2 ZFS Volume.

iSCSI was configured according to the following guide:
View: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jn2q2ysr5g

The transfer speeds were not astonishing ranging from 7mb/s to ~60mb/s, but it felt quite snappy when trying to display thumbnails of photos, probably due to the low access time of the SSD.

I have some questions:

-where do i see how much space do I have left for adding new zvols?

-how do I see if everything has been written to the array? (when transferring via iSCSI)

-where do I see if everything is ok with my volume?

-where are the checksum settings?(where can I read more about them)

-how do I see the volume type raidz2 z1, etc?

-how much space does ZFS take on a 8 HDD raidz2 config, on each hdd?
(I could not create a new volume/zvol on my 8x3GB configuration, due to lack of space, where's the remaining space?)

Attachments

• Screenshot -  - 25_1_2014 , 1_28_13 PM.png
    Screenshot - - 25_1_2014 , 1_28_13 PM.png
    40.8 KB · Views: 147
  • Screenshot -  - 25_1_2014 , 1_28_36 PM.png
    Screenshot - - 25_1_2014 , 1_28_36 PM.png
    26 KB · Views: 155
  • Screenshot -  - 25_1_2014 , 1_42_08 PM.png
    Screenshot - - 25_1_2014 , 1_42_08 PM.png
    78.9 KB · Views: 164
  • Screenshot -  - 25_1_2014 , 1_42_22 PM.png
    Screenshot - - 25_1_2014 , 1_42_22 PM.png
    80.1 KB · Views: 160

Michael Wulff Nielsen

Contributor
First you should be aware that Freenas was not meant to run in a vm. It is an unsupported configuration.