larger system configuration questions and observations

Status
Not open for further replies.

weecho

Dabbler
Hi,

I've been dabbling with Freenas for nearly 2 years. My current system is a 6 core i7, 32GB Ram (non-ECC (I know)), 12-2TB Sata drives in RAIDZ2, 2 SSDs mirrored for Jails and 1 SSD for OS. I have a bunch of jails running Plex, Plex Connect, Sabnabd, Couchpotato, Sickbeard and Owncloud. I have not seen more than 8 streams off of this box yet. Most people watching are throttled to 4mb/s so lots of transcoding. (Almost) Never a hiccup. I have tried doing an iSCSI connection to a VMware server, the iSCSI connection would randomly drop, so I gave that up. Since I'm almost out of capacity, for the interim, I though I would do an iSCSI connection between a QNAP box and Freenas (direct GigE connection). The system eventually hangs and I need to do hard reboot on Freenas. So I gave this up and am just using an SMB connection for now.

I was settled on a new server. 16-4TB WD. I have flashed 2 IBM M1015. Currently a server class MB, 2 core Xeon processor with 16GB of RAM. For testing purposes, I have a (data1) volume setup as RaidZ2 on one controller using 4 drives and another (data2) volume setup on a separate controller card in RaidZ2. Over the network between the QNAP and this new server I can transfer 10GB files at roughly 330mb/s (peak 450Mb/s). I believe this to be the limitation of the QNAP. My Observations: While copying from the Qnap to data1, I'm getting ~330Mb/s. During this time if I copy a 10GB file from data1 to data2 I get 1.63Gb/s Without the transfer from the Qnap to Freenas data1, I can copy from data1 to data2 at 1.63Bb/s. I noticed compression was enabled by default and read that there should be no performance hit. I disabled compression and copying between data1 to data2 when up to 1.85Gb/s. CPU and RAM requirements when up drastically, but still had extra to go.