FreeNAS plus KODI Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

BKK

Dabbler
I'm interested in setting up a system to store backups from my home PCs and to also serve as a KODI box.

The PCs to backup would be running Windows 10 and Windows 7.

A friend of my setup a FreeNAS system and is generally happy but he has had several issues backing up Windows PCs. I'm not sure what specifically the issue is but he said it has to do with permissions.

Apparently KODI is supported by I'm not sure how well it works, I also have concerns about backing up Windows PCs to FreeNAS.

If anyone can give me their opinion I would appreciate it. Is what I want to do a mistake? If not can this be done in a reasonably straightforward manner, I'm not an expert but I can do the basics. Is there a better solution?

Thank You

diedrichg

Wizard
FreeNAS can only run as a server for Emby or Plex. Kodi would need to run on a client connected to the TV. The Kodi client could then connect to a share on the FreeNAS pool or you could use the Emby or Plex plugins in Kodi.

As for permissions; that's simply learning how to use your server. There are more topics on this forum on permissions than anyone would ever need. You would just need to do some research.

As for backups. Do you mean a full disk image? Simple file syncing? NextCloud, Resilio, Syncthing, SyncBack, SyncToy, Crashplan, SpiderOak, BackBlaze, Carbonite, Acronis, and on, and on, and on... they are either directly available as plugins in FreeNAS or have the capability to sync to your pool within Windows. How you want to manage your backup solutions is up to you.

mattbbpl

Patron
Diedrichg has it right - Kodi is the client machine. These usually run on a low power PC like an AMD e-350 or a Raspberry Pi.