Newbie setup questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raggedyman

Cadet
Hi, got 9.3 running on an old Shuttle box but having problems with finding what buttons to hit to make it work as I want.

Have looked through the documentation and forums but not been able to find the answers so if anyone can help with these I would be most appreciative. Even if it's just a link to a guide that I've not yet found I would be incredibly grateful, as I'm very new to all this so am quite possibly looking using the wrong words.

1 - Can you change the admin username to something other than 'root'? I would like to do this for added security.

2 - Is it possible to format a volume and share? I've got the basics set up and okay but having permission problems (it keeps on locking me out of folders) so would like to do a partial reset without doing a full re-install.

3 - What is the simplest way to set up a shared volume for Windows PCs and a Kodi Raspberry Pi, where you need to have a user login to get into the volume and can then do anything once in there. I think I know how to set up users and permissions but I'm not sure if I'm doing them right (if you get what I mean). Volumes and shares I'm still fingers and thumbs with.

Thanks in advance ^_^

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi, got 9.3 running on an old Shuttle box but having problems with finding what buttons to hit to make it work as I want.
What are the hardware specs for this "old Shuttle box"? They may be inadequate for running FreeNAS. I recommend reading the following:
http://doc.freenas.org/9.3/freenas.html
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ning-vdev-zpool-zil-and-l2arc-for-noobs.7775/

1 - Can you change the admin username to something other than 'root'? I would like to do this for added security.
That doesn't really add any security. If you're network is set up so that someone can hammer away at your webgui then you have bigger fish to fry.