FreeNAS newbie in trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peter Morris

Cadet
Hi everybody!

I am new to FreeNAS. I like the idea of being able to configure and customize your own mass storage solution. I have assembled a system with 6 hard drives; 5 of equal size (4 TB each), and 1 80 GB. The latter is for hosting the installation of FreeNAS. I would appraise my networking skill, between intermediate to competent...certainly not expert. I am more competent with PC mechanics than I am with networking.

The specification of the PC is more than adequate. It has an 8-core processor and 16 GB of RAM. The motherboard does not have UEFI, which is now slowly (...and maybe faster than most of us might think) replacing BIOS.

My small project at home, has to do with expanding the storage capacity of a Network Video Recorder (NVR), using a NAS. However, I eventually learnt from the supplier that it does not support NAS. Nevertheless, it supports FTP. FreeNAS also supports FTP, and more. Hence my subsequent pursuit to build a custom storage unit, powered by FreeNAS.

Ultimately, the objective is to automate the transfer of the sequential video clips, from the NVR to FreeNAS. Is this possible?

After setting up the PC, and installing FreeNAS 9.10, I consulted the official documentation, for instructions and guidance. It became clear that I also needed to consult with others, such as yourselves for more assistance.

The official documentation is very good for understanding FreeNAS and how it works. However, I suppose I am too impatient to go through the learning curve, or maybe I am just too slow. I think I did well, to configure the Disk Volume, and setup the Shares; but, the Services is what I am not too clear about.

Is there a Samaritan out there, who is more able than me, with the time and patience to steer me through this effort?

HELP!!

Quebecman

Dabbler