Newbie VPN question

Status
Not open for further replies.

oguruma

Patron
I have very little working knowledge of VPN, other than a basic understanding of how it works, and I am looking to get some input as to a solution that would held me accomplish what I want to do.

I have an IP Surveillance set-up at home. I currently use a PC-based server, but will soon be switching to an off-the-shelf NVR. The NVR does have a mouse input, but is designed to be administered via PC (windows based) software. The cameras do have an iOS app, but it only works for live view, not for reviewing footage.

I travel somewhat frequently, and when the whole family is gone, I usually get my folks (no tech savvy at all) to house-sit.
I want to be able to (securely) remotely access my home network for the following purposes:
- Securely browsing the web (my internet use is usually restricted to hotel/public Wifi).
- Access files (mainly photos) stored on a Freenas Box.
- Review camera footage on the NVR.
- Troubleshoot/conduct basic PC tasks for others in the house (teamviewer/tightVNC).
- Set up remote "Lan Parties" for gaming (this is not a priority, but the capability would be cool).

I currently have an old PC set up as a PFsense box, but I am just experimenting with it right now, and it is not currently deployed in any meaningful sense. I still use a Netgear router, but plan on using the Pfsense box once I get proficient with it. I understand that PFsense supports OpenVPN, but I am not quite sure how this works. I am assuming that I would use a client on my laptop to connect to the PFsense box, and then the PFsense router acts as a gateway for all traffic?

I'm tuning in to this thread. I'm interested in the same thing.

tvsjr

Guru