FreeNAS img on USB key always reboot after main menu

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aal

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS. I intend to use it as a backup of my main NAS (a Synology DS-412+) - which is full and contains many datas important to me (hence the backup...)

Problem : whatever initial media I use (ISO image burned on a CD or DVD, bootable image copied on a brand new USB key), I cannot get the system runnin. I get first the boot menu (F1/F2/F5/F6 choices), then what I call the "main menu" (I'm not sure it's the proper name) : you know, the menu with FreeNAS written à la ASCII-art. Immediately after seeing this menu, the computer reboots !

I asked usual oracles, some of my symptoms are described here and here (when I press F2 at boot menu, I got the ###-endless-loop, but the system boots just fine if I don't press any key). But this bug entry is quite old, and I don't use Dell server (I also read here and there that people do had issues rather like mine with Dell servers). Here is my hardware :
  • motherboard : Gigabyte EP45-UD3 (chipsets Intel® P45 Express + ICH10) ;
  • CPU : Intel Pentium E5200 ;
  • 4 x 2 Go DDR2 Kingston HyperX ;
  • USB key : Kingston DataTraveler Micro 8 Go (new and its FS never written). I just copied on it the installation image (the .img.xz file), from Ubuntu - there's a nice GUI which seems to seemlessly do the job - but I also tried with dd - without success) ;
  • 8 SATA hard drives :
    • 6 Western Digital 1 TB « green », attached to main SATA ports (those connected to Intel chipset) ;
    • 1 Seagate 4 TB ;
    • 1 Samsung 640 GB whith other OS (Ubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 - as this system is intended to be an occasional casual NAS, I foresee to also use it to run games sometimes) ;
  • there also a nVidia GPU and a PCI-Express 1x USB 3.0 D-Link add-in card - but I don't think it's really important ;
  • the PSU, at last, and to be complete, is an Enermax Modu87+ (500W).