FreeNAS destroyes USB Sticks and SSD's frequently

Franiac

Dabbler
Hello,

I have been using FreeNAS for over 3 years now and the death rate of my boot drives is very high. I have done some counting and want to present the results.
I started off by using USB sticks as boot drives for FreeNAS (started with 9.2) and later switched to SSD's since it is recommended nowadays to do so. Currently I am running 11.3U5. We are talking 2 years of USB stick and 1 year of SSD usage. And again, we are only talking about a boot drive mirror consisting of either 2 USB sticks or 2 SSD's.

I have 2 machines running FreeNAS 24/7 and both use 2 drives as a mirrowed boot pool.

In the first 2 years of usage I have lost 11 USB sticks of various brands (Intenso, SanDisk, Samsung, ...)
That includes a total loss of the boot mirror (both USB sticks faild at the same time).

In the 3rd year when I switched to SSD's (Crucial MX500 and WD Blue) I lost 3 SSD's.

I have done a lot of research and there is nothing wrong with either my configuration or hardware in general.

In addition to that it seems like I am not alone on this:

See here and here for example.

FreeNAS is unbelievably good for beeing a free software. But these hardware failures are worrying me. I also tried Unraid on a 3rd backup NAS with the same hardware just to check if things look better and lo and behold I have not lost any hardware whatsoever.

So I have to ask. What's going on with FreeNAS? How hard is it hammering the boot pool to kill drives that fast. Could there be a problem or is this just "working as intended"? This looks like a very broad issue.

Thank you for the awesome software! Any help is much appreciated.

~Franiac

no_connection

Patron
No matter how much it writes it shuold not be able to kill the SSD by writes alone. So it's definitely something wrong here.

Looking at my VM with 11.3U5 it writes about 0.1MB/s or so. No way near enough to ever be a problem.