FreeNAS Build Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

foonji

Dabbler
I currently have a FreeNAS box that has 6x WD Red 4tb in Z2, plus another 2 SATA drive trays used for offsite backups. This system I use mainly for archival purposes for photographs and a bit of video and it also runs a plex server. However it has now been going for 4 years, getting a bit old in the tooth and using desktop hardware, so I wish to upgrade the pool into a fresh server grade hardware setup that will last me another eternity. I'll keep the existing case, and PSU, just looking at swapping out the motherboard, cpu and ram to start.

I intend for this system to continue to be used to archive photos/video and run plex. However I would like to expand it in the future to provide a second pool with SSDs for speed to use as a working drive for images/video.

I'm no expert, but with that in mind I'm looking at the following hardware below >>

Motherboard: SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SSH-F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236 >> The motherboard has 8 SATA ports on board which will satisfy my current hard drive setup, but means I'll need the possibility to expand later, is there a recommended SAS board to use with this board and freenas?
I have a spare M2 16gb Intel Optane that I'll use as the freenas drive also with this board.

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 V5 3.4 GHz LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31230V5 Server Processor >> I went middle of the board here, but what do people think? Will it be powerful enough for my needs?

RAM: Crucial CT16G4RFD4213 16GB 288-Pin DDR4 2133 Server Memory (x2 32gb in total) >> 2 16gb to leave room for more RAM in future.

kdragon75

Wizard
getting a bit old in the tooth
You mean long in the tooth.
I have a spare M2 16gb Intel Optane that I'll use as the freenas drive also with this board.
I guess if you don't want to boot from USB. The fast 3D X-Point memory with do nothing for performance as the boot drive.
I went middle of the board here
Middle of the road?