Freenas 8 and Boxee Box

Status
Not open for further replies.

calgarychris

Contributor
Hi,

Just wondering if anyone out there is running Freenas and has a Boxee box connected? I have got Freenas setup, fairly basic I believe, currently with AFP, NFS and SMB shares on. I can't seem to get BB to see them on the network, even though my Win7 machine and Mac find and transfer to it perfectly...

My current set up is:

BB with 1.1.3.19252 (Jun 22)
Freenas server set to 192.168.1.50
DNS-323
Win7 PC
iMac
DAP-1522

The BB is wired directly to the DAP-1522 and can load files from the DNS-323 no issues. Works beautifully. The new server has AFP, SMB and NFS enabled and essentially two users are granted access "Guest" and "Tom". Both users have the same passwords "***x".

The SMB share is browsable and allows guest access. My Win7 machine can read files with no issue as can my iMac using AFP. I need BB to access the server but I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff.

On BB, under Settings --> Network --> Servers I have checked Enable Windows sharing and the workgroup is WORKGROUP. I left the share password blank (I'm assuming this actually allows for browsing onto BB from another PC). Currently under SMB Client it's all set to defaults (blank, blank, blank, WORKGROUP)

I have repeatedly gone into Settings --> File Sources and manually entered the IP address 192.168.1.50 with user name, without, with pw, without but most times it simply spins the blue search circle and comes back with nothing. As I have now downgraded the fw to this version, it now comes back with the message "Error Connection Timed Out".