First Time With TrueNAS

nomb

Cadet
Hello everyone,

Firstly, I just wanted to say hello and it's nice to meet everyone.

Secondly, as I am new to TrueNAS and NAS in general, I wanted to just give a summary of where I am at and why and why I made some of the choices I did and get some general feedback / comments.

So I have a Dell R710 2 6-core CPUs and 188GB of memory. It gets really loud and my girlfriend got tired of looking at it and having it in the room it had to be in so I decided to build a newer more modern server. I am a heavy virtualization user (esx/proxmox/etc) and use it for my day job so I decided to build a new one. I knew I wanted it to be able to handle virtualization really well and I knew that I wanted some way to have modern NAS-like functionality.

I ended up building this guy: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/3VrcY9
I had never done RGB before either and figured it'd make the girlfriend enjoy looking at it more so I gave it a shot.

So at this point I spent days going over how I wanted to set it up. Proxmox baremetal and virtualize TrueNAS, TrueNAS baremetal and use it's virtualization, TrueNAS baremetal and virtualize ProxMox, etc.

I decided to go with Proxmox baremetal and virtualize TrueNAS. Reason being I have a lot of terraform scripts I use for spinning up networks in Proxmox and a few other little things. My plan was to get a RAID card and pass that through to the VM however after adding the GPU, since I'm using a micro atx case, all of my PCI slots were blocked. Sigh. So I ended attaching the disks directly to the VM and passing them through that way. I know this isn't ideal.