Can't get virtual machine to work...

fsociety3765

Explorer
Hi all,

I am trying to get an Ubuntu Server virtual machine running on SCALE. I have never used virtualization on TrueNAS before but I have a need to use it now.

I have configured it all via the wizard etc and it appears to start up, but I can't access the display via VNC or SPICE. It doesn't seem to give me any information on what IP address it has (if any) for an SSH connection either.

I must be doing something wrong. Any thoughts?

I should also note that my TrueNAS SCALE is running in a virtual machine in Proxmox. I have Proxmox configured correctly for nested virtualization, passing the host CPU directly through to TrueNAS. TrueNAS wouldn't even let me create the VM until that had been done.

Thanks,
FS

KrisBee

Wizard
Did you create a bridge inside SCALE for use wth the VM? Grub or UEFI boot?

Last edited:

mye

Dabbler
Hi,

Yes, I am using a bridge for networking. It's set to UEFI boot.
I have ubuntu server running in VM - no issues.
Just to confirm about the same bridge we are talking. is is one as on my screenshot?

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-10-07 120005.jpg
    Screenshot 2021-10-07 120005.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 911

fsociety3765

Explorer
The web UI shows it's powered on, but I don't think it's booting for some reason. There is never anything in the logs file. Can never bring up the display output and the NIC details never shows an IP address.

Perhaps it's because of the nested environment? Maybe that's not supported yet in this release?

mye

Dabbler
Does the bridge have to be set up in a particular way?
Bridge has to have as member your physical network card. That bridge has to be assigned to the VM. Not 100% sure but after you create and save bridge you might need to reboot truenas.