First FreeNAS build from a Noob: Home use

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrewkhkwak

Cadet
Hi,
I'm a complete newbie to the forum, hoping to get advised on a potential FreeNAS build.

----------

For your reference, following is a summary of my tech sorriness.

I currently own a Netgear 2 Bay DNS-323 which I bought nearly 10 years ago. My Netgear is setup on NON RAID with 2TB + 1.5TB HDD. Recently my 2TB drive started intermittently going out of whack, however I was lucky enough to be able to backup my invaluable family photos and videos on time. Then I realized the importance of redundancy and having a proper backup plan.

While searching for a solution past week, I just found out what a NAS could really do these days. PLEX?!! Cloud Server?!! Gosh It was a rude awakening for me. (My Netgear was explicitly used for in-home media storage/playback.)

I initially thought of getting one of a pre-built Synology or QNAP, but I feel suckered for paying for a NAS without upgradable components. Then I found FreeNAS.

As you might have suspected, I'm program language illiterate (for me, Python=Snake), but I'm brave enough for a challenge.

For now, all I want my NAS is to provide me with PLEX media Server and OwnCloud server functionality. I'm sure I will learn to explore other functions in the future.

Should I take the plunge (to FreeNAS)? or Am I wasting my time trying to sprint before I walk? I would appreciate your honesty.

---------

̶I̶f̶ ̶I̶'̶m̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶ ̶d̶i̶s̶c̶o̶u̶r̶a̶g̶e̶d̶ ̶b̶y̶ ̶a̶n̶y̶o̶n̶e̶,̶ ̶P̶l̶e̶a̶s̶e̶ ̶r̶e̶v̶i̶e̶w̶ ̶b̶e̶l̶o̶w̶;̶

A̶m̶a̶z̶o̶n̶ ̶W̶i̶s̶h̶l̶i̶s̶t̶
PC Partpicker

̶I̶s̶ ̶A̶t̶o̶m̶ ̶A̶v̶o̶t̶o̶n̶ ̶8̶ ̶c̶o̶r̶e̶ ̶c̶a̶p̶a̶b̶l̶e̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶T̶r̶a̶n̶s̶c̶o̶d̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶3̶-̶4̶ ̶1̶0̶8̶0̶P̶ ̶m̶e̶d̶i̶a̶ ̶s̶i̶m̶u̶l̶t̶a̶n̶e̶o̶u̶s̶l̶y̶?̶

C̶a̶s̶e̶:̶ ̶F̶r̶a̶c̶t̶a̶l̶ ̶D̶e̶s̶i̶g̶n̶ ̶A̶r̶c̶ ̶M̶i̶d̶i̶ ̶R̶2̶
Case: Fractal Design Define Mini
M̶o̶t̶h̶e̶b̶o̶a̶r̶d̶/̶C̶P̶U̶:̶ ̶S̶u̶p̶e̶r̶m̶i̶c̶r̶o̶ ̶M̶i̶n̶i̶ ̶I̶T̶X̶ ̶A̶1̶S̶A̶I̶-̶2̶7̶5̶0̶F̶-̶O̶