First Build, Realistic Expectations for Administration

AZCoyote

Cadet
Hello Guys and Gals!

I have been watching FreeNAS for about 5 years and planning to build a system but never quite got to it. I think this is the year but I have some questions to make sure I am being realistic. My use case is primarily storage for my media and Plex. However, I do want a place to centralize some services like a Minecraft server, Unturned server, and my Sabnzbd/Sonarr setup. Jails seems like a good way to get those things going. I would also like to setup SMB shares and OwnCloud. I would also like to host a VM or two...

My background is technically savy. I run a firewall I built on Sophos and have run other linux based implemenations. Ubuntu is my personal flavor of Linux these days. I have a Linux box I use for a print server and controller for my Ubiquiti network now. I am a C# programmer, SQL DBA, and network admin. Pretty much jack of all trades.

Here is what I am deciding between for the hardware and if I want to FreeNAS.

$1100 - QNAP based
RAM 16 gb
12 TB drive single
4 bay
Intel Celeron J4125 Quad-core 2.0GHz

$2000 - Silverstone based
RAM 64
12 TB in Mirrored dual disk array with LSI HBA
12 bays - 8 external
AMD Ryzen 7 - 8 core

So here are the questions I hope someone can answer....

1. Can I reasonably expect to have little upkeep on a FreeNAS system? Once I have things setup, will it just run barring any hardware problems or do I constantly need to fiddle and tweak for performance? I have no issue with up front setup and configuration investment. I would very much like to get things running and leave it all to just do it's thing.

2. With my main goal as a Plex delivery system, should I consider something like the QNAP and just call it a day? I realize asking enthusiasts that might get some skewed responses. One must assume everyone here loves FreeNAS or why do it, right?

ThreeDee

Guru