SOLVED Firewall slowing down UI or even causing the UI to freeze

terrencetec

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I am new to TrueNAS and I have recently built a TrueNAS system with the following hardware (probably not related but I will post anyway.
  • CPU: Intel Xeon E-2146G
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte C246N-WU2
  • RAM: 32GB 2Rx8 PC4-2666V-EE1-11 HMAA4GU7AJR8N-VK TO AC 2120
I ran one RAIDZ2 pool with 5 WD 8TB RED PLUS WD80EFZZ.

My ultimate goal is to have safe remote access to my data. I know remote access is generally not recommended but I will be moving to another country in a few months so I really hope to have remote access to my data.
I went the OpenVPN + firewall route. I followed this guide: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEkfW4aC9Rk
and configured OpenVPN Certificates for the server and clients, and set up the OpenVPN server.
I follow the video to set up tunables including

Code:
firewall_enable 1
firewall_type open
gateway_enable 1
natd_enable 1
natd_interface igb0
natd_flags -dynamic -m

After restarting, VPN worked fine and I can access my SMB share remotely.
However, I accessed the TrueNAS UI (both remotely and locally) and sometimes it would freeze and there's no way to continue using the UI.
If I type the TrueNAS IP on a new browser tab, it would show the UI background color but it would take forever to load the login screen.
There's a crazy font problem as well when this happens. I didn't take a screenshot (I will later if I am brave enough to enable the firewall again).
Sometimes it is still accessible so I took the chance to disable firewall_enable and firewall_type.
After that, the UI returns to normal.

I have a few questions.
Have anyone encountered this? Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
Is there a way for me to modify the firewall tunables using CLI? I can modify it using SSH (I have set up the SSH keys for SSH access) when I can't access the UI.
Is it safe to leave firewall_enable and firewall_type disable if I really want remote access?