Docker Containers Have No Outbound Internet Connectivity?

drinny

Dabbler
I just started playing around with TrueNAS Scale today. I've been itching to move to containerized applications instead of managing them individually in jails within TrueNAS Core.

So far, I've managed to get a docker-compose.yml file built with all of my containers configured within. The containers run just fine aside from the fact that they don't seem to have outbound Internet access? Some of the apps need to be able to contact outside hosts and none seem to be able to by default?

The only way that I've found around this is to:
  • edit /etc/docker/daemon.json
  • change "iptables": false to "iptables":true
  • sudo systemctl restart docker
This does allow my containers to then reach the internet, but this needs to be manually done on server reboot.

Is there a better way to go about doing this? I'm guessing that something may be a little more polished down the road once Apps are more fully supported in Scale. I'm just looking on how I might bridge the gap in the mean time.

ornias

Wizard
That solution you just posted, IS the stop-gap.

Just to be clear: Docker-compose is NOT supported, it's allowed and not prevented to use, but it's not actually supported.

I think you're also misunderstanding that "Apps" refer only to TrueNAS SCALE Apps, the Apps section in the GUI and theoption in there to add docker containers. It does NOT refer to docker-compose.

Simply put:
docker-compose is not removed or prevented, but you're on your own if you want to use non-IX and/or non-k8s solutions.

drinny

Dabbler
Understood that docker-compose is not supported. I also understand that "Apps" refers to the official TrueNAS SCALE Apps in the GUI there and is not related to docker-compose on the CLI.