Disk Layout Advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

L3192

Dabbler
Hello,

I am new to FreeNas.

I am looking for some advise on setting up a test system for evaluating FreeNas 9.3

System Informatoin:
SuperMicro 6027R-WRF
* 256G RAM
* 2 512G sata disks for the OS
* 20 4TB drives

System activity:
* Very heavy read activity of small files via NFS
* Very heavy writes on NFS

I will be using RaidZ2 for the extra protection and will be setting up 2-10 disk VDEV pools.
My questions are the following:

1. since I have so much memory, should I used it instead of L2ARC to gain some increased performance
2. The system is on UPS; therefore I am thinking that I can avoid using a ZIL log and turn off sync n each pool for NFS activity.

Does the above sound right or should I be doing something else? I'm looking to improve read/write performance via NFS but cannot afford to use RAID0+1 mirroring for this application.

Thanks!

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
1. since I have so much memory, should I used it instead of L2ARC to gain some increased performance
Nope, the RAM will be used as the ARC (not L2).
2. The system is on UPS; therefore I am thinking that I can avoid using a ZIL log and turn off sync n each pool for NFS activity.
A UPS won't protect against a random server crash or reboot. IOW, a UPS is not the answer for disabling sync. A low latency and high-write endurance SLOG with power protection is the answer.

And how many IOPS are you expecting to need? With 2 RAIDz2 vdevs in your pool, you are looking at ~300. This doesn't seem like it will support what you are trying to do (lots of small reads and writes).

Suggestions:
- Consider adding a SLOG (I think the Intel DC3700 is the latest recommendation).
- Consider using striped mirrors for much greater IOPS performance.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hello,
* 2 512G sata disks for the OS
That seems fairly wasteful.

I will be using RaidZ2 for the extra protection and will be setting up 2-10 disk VDEV pools.