Did import pool destroy my data?

JeanHT

Cadet
I successfully installed TrueNAS 12.0-U7 on my repurposed ThinkServer TS140 and everything was working fine. The original boot drive failed, so I popped in a WD 500GB that I had lying around. Sadly, I didn't have a copy of the working configuration, so I had to reinstall from scratch. It was simple because all I do with TrueNAS is share the pool with SMB for serving files to myself on two Windows 10 computers. I imported the existing pool from the two existing hard drives, but there doesn't seem to be any data anymore. The share appears empty, and that's quite frightening.

I know zero about FreeBSD or any flavor of Unix. I can type "ls" but that's it--literally. And that's obviously not enough to assure myself that I didn't inadvertently destroy all of my data through a misstep. While I am a veteran Windows and PC user, I'm quite out of my league here. If a kind soul were to take pity on me and share a few commands to help me discover whether I shot myself in the foot, I would be very grateful.

Thank you.

ThinkServer TS140
32GB ECC RAM
Two Seagate IronWolf 12GB data drives in RAID-1
Boot drive is WD 500GB

Heracles

Wizard

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
he share appears empty, and that's quite frightening.
I would start by looking from the server, not the share... chances are you just haven't done the permissions right when you set up the users in the new system.

JeanHT

Cadet
I would start by looking from the server, not the share... chances are you just haven't done the permissions right when you set up the users in the new system.
I agree, but in my utter lack of knowledge, I don't know how to do that. Truly embarrassing to be asking for this level of noob advice.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality