Dataset/Pool permissions for Apps and SMB

Dear community,

I am quite new to TrueNAS scale and have encountered a problem I that’s driving me insane. I already spent hours on hours googling and searching this forum, but I couldn’t find an answer yet. It might very well be that all of this is just me stupidity and lack of deeper knowledge, and if there is an easy fix and/or guide on how to solve this I would be more than grateful if somebody could point me to it.

So, the story goes:

I am running an old Optiplex with one SDD for the OS, one SSD for apps and two 6TB HDDs for storage (mirrored). I am running version TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02.4
My two main use cases for my server are as a local NAS for access through a samba share and as a Jellyfin and Nextcloud Server.

Initially everything was going great, I set up my pool (/mnt/Kowloon) with the two mirrored HDDs, created the dataset (/mnt/Kownloon/Mongkok) and the user ‘gorgor’ and made him the owner of the dataset. I then added a SMB share and started loading all my files onto the NAS using my Windows PC.

After that I started setting up my Jellyfin server, which is installed on a different pool and dataset (/mnt/Lamma/ix-applications). I want it to access the same dataset I use for my SMB (/mnt/Kowloon/Mongkok) share since this is where I save my media files through my laptop. I couldn’t access my Dataset through Jellyfin. Then I found out I must give the ‘apps’ user permission to access my dataset in order to read my files. So, I did this and Jellyfin could access my files without problems.