Data loss investigation

Status
Not open for further replies.

supercoolfool

Dabbler
Hello, thank you for reading my post. I'm not looking for assistance in recovering data, just to determine how I may have lost it. I hope I've added all the necessary info.

I'm new to FreeNAS having usually used hardware raid in a windows server environment. I recently lost pretty much all the data off my FreeNAS box and I was hoping to determine how.

At this point, I'm fairly certain I was hacked into and my files deleted from the nas, I'm just looking for confirmation. One of my Windows PC's got infected with a cryptography virus encrypting me out of all my backups. I believe at the same time whoever broke in deleted my files from the NAS so I would have to pay the ransom to get my encrypted data back.

As for the FreeNAS box, there are no errors in the logs that would indicate any errors with the pool or drives. The pool is healthy, but I'm missing some folders and tons of files from the server. An automatic scrub had been run at midnight the day before as well and all my data seemed fine afterwards.

There's only 2 issues I've ever had with the box and I was wondering if either of these would cause my data loss and not the hack:

1) When I built the box, I used a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 motherboard. There is 1 array of 6 drives in a RAID6, 4 drives are connected to the "intel" sata controller and 2 connected to the Marvel on-board sata controller. Not sure if I was taking this hardware agnostic thing a little too far and that caused my data loss. Obviously in a hardware RAID that's not possible, not sure if this is my issue. Also, the box only has 8 GB of RAM for what used to be about 12 TB of data, so I was below the 1GB of RAM per TB rule.

2) I would have these Timeout errors about once a day in the logs:
Code:
192.168.5.128	Nov 20 18:57:37	freenas	user	notice	ahcich5	Timeout on slot 29 port 0