Cron Job for Certbot in a Jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

dambrosioj

Dabbler
I hope someone can help me, I am pretty new to setting up cron jobs. I setup nginx/cerbot/letsencrypt in a jail and its working great. The problem is I am trying to run a cronjob to get the cert to autorenew every 90days (or check every 30 days). I can run it fine inside jail but when trying to do it as a crontab -e it doesnt work. I also tried doing it from the gui.

I wanted to use this command:
Code:
*/30 * * * * service nginx stop && /certbot/certbot-auto renew && service nginx start >> /var/log/le-renew.log

Could anyone point me in the right direction

danb35

Hall of Famer
Well, the crontab entry you posted would run your command every 30 minutes, every hour, every day, every month, and every day of the week. That's certainly not what you want, especially since it will take down your web server. A better plan would be:
Code:
 7 22 * * * /certbot/certbot-auto renew && service nginx reload >> /var/log/le-renew.log

This runs certbot daily at 10:07 PM (a semi-randomly chosen time at night, when the server presumably won't be too busy). It will check your existing cert, and if has less than 30 days before expiration, it will renew it. As long as you used the webroot plugin to get your cert, you don't need to stop nginx.

Last edited:

dambrosioj

Dabbler
Well, the crontab entry you posted would run your command every 30 minutes, every hour, every day, every month, and every day of the week. That's certainly not what you want, especially since it will take down your web server. A better plan would be:
Code:
 7 22 * * * /certbot/certbot-auto && service nginx reload >> /var/log/le-renew.log