certbot-2.7: Command not found

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
I've been having a problem getting certbot to run from a script to handle renewals that I've been using for a couple years that has ran without issue in the past. Seems something broke in the latest package version of py27-certbot so I uninstalled it and installed py37-certbot. When I run the command in the script from the terminal it runs fine without error. When trying to run the exact same command from my script via a cron task set in the GUI it's seems to still be trying to run py27-certbot which isn't installed and of course returns an error. This is run from a jail I have set up to handle my nginx reverse proxy. Nginx, openssl111 and certbot (and it's dependencies) are all that's installed in this jail.

The error:
Code:
/usr/local/bin/certbot-2.7: Command not found.
Command: csh /renew.sh failed! 

The script:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
/usr/local/bin/certbot renew --post-hook "service nginx restart" --quiet

The only thing I've been able to find online remotely similar is this thread on the FreeBSD forums but trying the things listed there didn't help.

I don't know what to do to fix this. The simlink seems fine so I don't know what is triggering certbot to try to use the older version. How do I go about debugging this? The letsencrypt error log isn't much help.

Last edited:

danb35

Hall of Famer
It doesn't really answer your question, but I really don't like using certbot if I can help it--it's a tangled mess of dependencies that's far more complicated than it needs to be. Unless I'm using acme-dns for validation (because the available hook script for certbot works much more conveniently than acme.sh), I really prefer acme.sh.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad