Crashplan Home 1 year on... Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim1962

Patron
Last year (?) Crashplan stopped supporting CP Home but gave a discounted rate for CP Business. I continued to use it for online backup at the discounted rate, and I use URBackup and Timemachine locally to the FreeNAS box. (I haven't used the FreeNAS Cloud sync option yet...)

My challenge is to cope with two errant daughter at Uni etc where CP works well for them but is a bit expensive and can't easily backup to the local NAS

Anyone else considered and managed this sort of dilemma. I could dump CP and go for URBackup and FreeNAS Backblaze sync to online but that would leave the girls out in the cold and at risk, or continue to cough up for CP for all of us and not worry

I haven't checked the bills recently but think CP prices are about to jump back up to the full cost...

BW Tim

fracai

Guru
I've been using duplicacy with B2 for several months now, since my Home account expired, and have been very happy with the combination. duplicacy required a bit more attention to set up the exclusion file, but there are contributors who have provided templates that get most of the work done.

Alternatively, you could run a VPN to provide access to your box from the university.

adrianwi

Guru
What are storing locally at Uni that needs backing up to your FreeNAS system? My partners machine is on our local network, but in order that everything is stored on my FreeNAS server, she saves everything it folders that are sync'ed using Nextcloud running in a FreeNAS jail and mounted to the FreeNAS pool. This would work well remotely so long as the files aren't huge, and might even work then as the sync would just happen in the background.

I then use Crashplan for Small Business (still discounted, but expect I'll continue at the full price as $120/year is still pretty good for 3TB+ cloud storage) to backup key files on the NAS.