Confirming Setup Solutions & Approach

FerrousEULA

Cadet
Hi Everyone!

Context:
I'm new to TrueNAS and ZFS. I'm migrating from a Synology DS413 because it's slow, the WD Blacks inside of it are at 60k hours, and it's time to make changes to ensure the safety and flexibility of my data. I am also dabbling in a self-hosted Plex, Home Assistant in a VM, etc.

I've read the primer, run my own experiments with spare drives, and am currently backing up all of my data to the cloud to prepare for a final migration before then selling off the DS413 device itself. I am trying to keep costs to a minimum, but will come back to this project periodically to continue improvements.

The Ask:
I'm hoping some of you can confirm my understanding and critique my planned solution before I go too far down this path.

The Current Setup:
4x2TB WD Black (SHR 1 drive fault tolerance, effectively RAID5) in a DS413. They're at 60k hours and going strong, but it's time to do better.

The Destination:
Desktop Tower, Core i5 2500k, Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, 16GB DDR3. This computer is roughly 10 years old, runs fine, tests fine. I've already set this up on Scale and run experiments. All behaves stable.

Additional Storage Devices:
2TB WD Black, 1TB HDD, 128GB SSD (Boots Scale), 256GB SSD (Holds Apps), 2x12TB Manf. Recert. Western Digital Ultrastar DC HC520 on the way.

The Target Solution:
3x2TB RAIDZ1, 2x2TB Stripe (Plex) | Both backed up to 2x12TB Mirror w/ scheduled snapshots as well.

I intend to set up a 20% size reserve dataset on each pool in order to protect the operational headroom if datasets fill up.

The Transfer:
Backing up all data to cloud now, then copying to the 2x12 mirror, then pulling down the DS413 and moving drives over, then reformatting those same drives as the front end of my solution (that sees more active use) until they die with the Backup mirror as a safety net. I would keep 1TB of the most critical data in cloud storage just to be extra safe.