Complete newbie tasked with setting up a NAS solution for a small business, need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

nj4ck

Dabbler
Hi there,

I've been tasked with completely overhauling our NAS system at work, even though I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to this kind if thing. It must be the fact that I occasionally build new PCs whenever needed that led my boss to believe I was the right guy for the job.
All whining aside, we're currently running a 12TB RAIDZ2 NAS with no backup and one drive already dead, so I really do need to get this done ASAP.

We use our NAS constantly, it is our main storage for all work performed on individual workstations (we're a 3D animation and visual effects studio). That means we are reading and writing large amounts of data pretty much all the time (projects can be several hundred GB that are created, moved, updated and removed constantly). There can be up to about 10 users accessing the NAS at the same time, usually the number will be more like 6 or 7.

What we need is a fast, secure and not entirely wallet-melting solution that should include a >12TB main NAS, an on-site mirror and an off-site backup that will likely be located at my boss's house. I was thinking possibly a RAID 10 main NAS with 6 4TB drives, a mirror using 6 3TB drives in RAID 6 and an off-site backup likely just consisting of two 6TB drives to keep the cost down. I'm thinking of using rsync (or maybe there's something better?) to keep the mirror up to date, but I haven't yet figured out a way to keep the off-site backup running.
Then there's the question of hardware. How much CPU do I need? How much RAM? Do I need a dedicated RAID controller? Our current NAS is running one of those ASRock ITX boards with a quad-core Atom and 16GB of RAM. Just looking at the graphs, it seems our CPU usage is fairly low, but RAM is pegged at 100% and we recently lost one of the 8GB DIMMs, leaving us with 8GB of RAM and noticably crippled read-write speeds.