BUILD Complete newbie FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kosta

Contributor
This is a debate akin to 'what religion is better'.

Whatever you prefer is what's best for you.

I personally never have any drives / desktops / servers sleep. They are 100% on all the time, all day, every day. Even laptop's that I may only use once or twice a month are set to 'never sleep'. The only thing I don't have run 24/7 is monitors. And my desktop monitors I manually turn off when I know I'm going away for more than a few hours. I still set windows to never turn them off.

I have some hard drives that are 15 years old, and have been spinning continuously since new. And they still work great. On the other hand, I'm sure there's people that have drives set to sleep after 5 minutes, and end up having 1,000's of power cycles a year and never have problems. It's all up to your preference.

I agree, I didn't want to say which are better or hold longer as it is probably up to a single disk, it was merely a digression.

My only worry are the yearly power-costs if the server has the 100% uptime without HDDs sleeping. Even with HDDs sleeping, the server would be on and use up to 40W of power, which is not a little when it comes to yearly power usage. My personal usage of the server is twice a day, once in the morning and once in the evening, 5-6 days a week, and then probably weekends either working through or maybe wake up couple of times more, as I would set the sleep to 30-60 minutes in general. And then there are those tests that should be ran, or so I've heard...