BUILD Complete newbie FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kosta

Contributor
Hi guys,

After reading quite a lot about building, hardware, ZFS, if DIY or prebuilt, I have come to conclusion, that for my needs and my level of knowledge, a FreeNAS is most likely the best solution.

My requirements:
- storage server for all my photos/videos/movies/documents with lots of space and expandability
- reliability with redundancy and failure safety (yes, most important data will be saved externally too, most likely 2nd 4TB NAS, the one I have now)
- possibility of future upgrade without having to invest 1000€+
- low power usage
- ability to run bittorrent and other similar programs (sabnzbd, sickbeard etc...)
- real-time 1080p mkv transcoding to mobile device(s), but one at the time (most probably Plex)
- Gigabit network, speeds around 100 MB/s wished and hopefully achieved (single CAT6 cable)
- sleep ability, but would like the power up ability like the current cheap DLINK NAS has, by accessing it, it wakes up (no WOL)

Currently provided networking hardware is ASUS RT-N66U router, Cisco SE2500 unmanaged switch, fully CAT6 based network, including CAT6 patchbay and wall-connectors (all CAT6 certified), self-made. Quite some knowledge about unix-based commands, not complete newbie here (also have OSX, and using Terminal quite much), however no unix expert. I find my way around when I need stuff, Google is much help and forums too. I am no stranger to tinkering and self-configuring, if it's not overly too complicated.

So, after some research, I have finally set up something that I think should serve for the time come:

Server MB Super Micro MBD - X9SCM - F mATX Intel LGA 1155
Intel Core i3 - 3240T 2,9 GHz ( Ivy Bridge ) Sockel 1155 - tray
Scythe Katana 4 SCKTN - 4000
Kingston D3 16 GB 1333 - 9 REGP Dx4I K2 KVR (KVR13R9D4K2)
ServeRAID M1015 SAS, SATA Controller
4x WD 8,9 cm ( 3,5 " ) 4 TB SATA3 WD40EFRX 64 MB Red