Can't see Disks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

NASA

Explorer
I'm new to FreeNAS: I built two servers earlier this year, but had to wait to purchase four 2.5" Seagate enterprise-grade drives (two per server) until the prices of hard drives dropped this past summer. I installed two of these 1 TB drives in one of my servers (Supermicro) with FreeNAS 8.0.1 loaded. The software saw the drives and I created a mirror volume with them. I then tried to upgrade to FreeNAS 8.2, but I could not do so via the GUI, so I reflashed my USB stick with the newer software. When I attempted to load the volume I had previously created, it loaded, however, the software sees the volume but not the individual disks! I did not have this problem with 8.0.1. I have already tried detaching the volume and recreating it--when I do I detect both drives as "ad0" and "ad1," but it does not fix the "View Disks" problem. Also, the "Volume Status" does not seem to work--I get a blank page. What good is it having a Raid 1 volume if one cannot see the status of its individual disks?

When I booted up FreeNAS 8.2 for the first time, I created a static IP4 address via the boot menu. When I go to the "Network" page on the GUI, however, I see nothing but another blank page. I see the interface I created under "Interfaces," but there is no place to put in my gateway, etc.

I am also trying to resolve the clock issue--where does FreeNAS get it's time, via the server/motherboard clock time server or its own time servers?

Thanks for your help--in particular to my first issue.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
If you are getting alot of blank pages there's likely something wrong with the FreeNAS installation. Perhaps the USB stick is bad?

I'd try a new USB stick first. Your data is safe as long as long as you don't do anything to write data to the disks themselves.

NASA

Explorer