Cant remove thumbs.db from SMB Share

Status
Not open for further replies.

bent98

Contributor
I use my windows box to delete files and folders from my FreeNas 11 U2 server. I mapped my windows 10 box to freenas via SMB shares. When I try to delete a folder, there sometimes is a hidden file called thumbs.db inside. Windows gives me an erroring telling me i cant delete the thumd.db file as its open in windows explorer. I went through a tutorial to make sure windows doesnt create the thumbs.db file in the future but my issue
https://www.hardanswers.net/stop-thumbs-db-from-locking-folder-deletion-renames

My issue is remove the already created folders with the thumbs.db in them? I searched the forums and found some threads on this topic but I couldn't quite grasp what the fix was. I work in windows mostly so I am a linux/Unin newbie.

Any help is much appreciated.

Last edited:

nojohnny101

Wizard
Aren't the thumbs.db files created by windows because they contain required metadata for the browsing of files? That is probably why the system doesn't want you deleting them.

Why do you want to get rid of them? They are trivial in size no?

bent98

Contributor
Because the thumb.db resides inside the folder I want to delete. I have about 70 folders I need to get rid of.

Redcoat

MVP
My issue is remove the already created folders with the thumbs.db in them? I searched the forums and found some threads on this topic but I couldn't quite grasp what the fix was. I work in windows mostly so I am a linux/Unin newbie.

Run this on the command line

Code:
find / -name "Thumbs.db" -delete

bent98

Contributor
Will that just delete the thumb.db file and not the folder or any other files inside that folder other than thumb.db? I want to make sure i dont run that i delete half my files.

I tried that command without the -delete statement and it pickup up a ton of thumb.db's

Last edited:

Redcoat

MVP