Cannot setup TrueNAS as a NUT Server

SDimou

Cadet
Hello everyone! I am pretty new at the TrueNAS world so I have a noobie question. I have attached a UPS to my HP Proliant Microserver and I am trying to setup the NUT Server but I cannot seem to make it work... I followed this guide to the letter but nothing works so I guess I'm missing some key steps.

1) At first, when I run the "nut-scanner -U" command it doesn't recognize the "-U" parameter and when I run the command without it I get the "USB search disabled" error.

nut-scanner.jpg

2) After I finish the setup of the UPS service, when I run the "upsc ups@localhost" command I get the "Connection failure: Connection refused" error.

upsc ups.jpg

3) After some search on the connection error message some people said that it might be the file permissions of the "/etc/nut" folder but I don't seem to have folder either... So I am definitely missing something important...

cd nut.jpg

So I need your help. Is there a more complete guide the the one I used? How do I enable the USB device search? Do I have to create a jail before? How is the nut folder created? Because I am sure I have enabled the UPS service.

ups service.jpg
Thank you in advance for your help!!

SDimou

Cadet
Update on my problem. I opened my console and it's flooded with "Connection refused" messages...

console.jpg

Still no "nut" folder though... If it's a permissions problem I don't know where to look...

SDimou

Cadet
That is the name I gave my NAS Server when I set it up. Is there a problem with the name? Is it reserved? Is there a conflict somewhere?

Redcoat

MVP
What is the make/model of your UPS?

Have you tested the USB cable?

Have you tested the USB port on your HP Proliant Microserver?

Did you look in the tabulation at https://networkupstools.org/stable-hcl.html, find your ups or one similar by the same manufacturer, use the identified driver name in the input when configuring the ups service?