Cannot access FreeNAS Mini anymore

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wanderer

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I am completely new to FreeNAS and bought a preconfigured FreeNAS Mini XL through Amazon. I am struggling getting the system up and running. In the first system I received, one of the bays was not working and one of the enclosures could not be opened. iXsystems was very responsive and replaced the system in a few days.

However, now I am having a network problem that may be hardware or software related. After I received the replacement system, I installed all the har ddrives and connected the system to the bottom gigabit LAN port. On the Mini XL, there are two gigabit LAN ports above each other as well as an IPMI Lan port.

I managed to log into the FreeNAS system and run through the setup wizard. I then intended to add a caching SSD, so I turned off the system system and installed the SSD. I noticed at shutdown that the bottom warning light on the front of the NAS was blinking red, but I did not think much of it.

After installing and connecting the SSD, I plugged the system back in and turned it on. The red warning light keeps on flashing regardless of whether the system is on or off. More importantly, even though the gigabit LAN port is connected to the switch, it is not picking up an IP address and I can therefore not reach the NAS. When turning the system off, it does so instantaneously, which indicates to me that it is not booting properly as it is not going through a shutdown procedure when turning it off.

I tried the following:
  • Disconnect the SSD again: The above behaviour does not change
  • Disconnect the network cable: The red warning light in the front stops flashing. It starts flashing again as soon as I plug the network cable back in regardless of whether the system is on or off.