Can you check a newbie Hardware list?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisB

Dabbler
Hi,

Im a newbie to Freenas. Im in the UK. Ive previously had NAS solutions from QNAP, Ive run two of these for a while, one for the CCTV server storage, and another for storing photos, films, important documents etc.. Setup in a raid 5.

Ive recently had some work done on the house, made space for adedicated home cinema, the kids will soon be of an age that they want to watch their own stuff, and now its time to setup a propper server.

Im looking to build a machine that can handle the ripping of my blu ray/dvd collection, be a plex server to share the media out to two kids and myself and the wife, and have redundancy and security built in so I can store all our holiday snaps etc in one location too.

Ive never delved into Freenas before, having only ever run windows boxes and iSCSI storage to a nas box. Its time I moved on.

So far Ive got the following spec ready to order:

2 x Sandisk 16gb USB 2.0 drives
Supermicro X10SL7-F
Xeon E3-1240 v3
2 x 16GB crucial DDR3 PC3 1600 ECC unbuffered CAS 11
8 x HGST 4TB deskstar NAS.
EVGA 650W 80Plus gold PSU

Case will be some rackmount ATX that I can find with enough airflow.

Can anyone see any glaring oversights or issues that I may experience with the above?

Looking forward to getting this all set up and my movies somewhere a little more stable than a raid5 Qnap nas.

Ill no doubt be posting questions asking about setup and configuring redundancy too :)

Last edited:

Fuganater

Patron
With RaidZ2 you will have ~24TB of space which will be nice. (well less after formating)

List looks good. What chassis have you looked at so far?

ChrisB

Dabbler