Build review - VM storage with different workloads

PiWa

Cadet
Hi all,

I've been using TrueNAS for a couple of years now, with ZFS. I've been reading these forums for a couple of months and decided to join and ask your opinions.
I have a storage server, with these specs:

Processor: 2x 8 Core Xeon E5-2667v4 / 3.2GHz / 25MB cache (16C/32T)
RAM: 512GB DDR4 PC4-17000P 2133MHz
Network: 2x 10Gbit uplinks

SSD: 4x Intel S3700 800GB
SSD's NVMe PCIe: 1x Intel Optane 900P 480GB
Harddisks: 4x 20TB Seagate Exos X20 7.2K SAS 12G

The usage of this storage server will be mainly using it as a storage for VM's over iSCSI. The VM's have different workloads: webserver, gameserver, fileserver, VPN, DNS...
I am planning on using ZFS mirroring for the 4x 20TB, splitting it in half but getting the performance for the VM storage. As for the SSD I will be using one drive as a boot drive. The other three as a RAID0 L2ARC cache (current storage at hit rate of 99-100% of ARC). The Optane drive I will use as a SLOG. Yes, I am using sync=always since I care about the data.

What are your thoughts? Do I downsize the Optane? To what size? Do I use the Optane for multiple functions? Do I use a Metadata vdev? Improvements? Things I forgot? Settings I need to keep in mind?

Thanks in advance. :smile:

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Do I downsize the Optane? To what size?

The number floating around the forums is that you need around 30GB for a reasonable SLOG. You could give yourself a little more than that though.

SSD: 4x Intel S3700 800GB
three as a RAID0 L2ARC cache (current storage at hit rate of 99-100% of ARC).
What a terrible waste... make a pool and use that for hign-performance storage on its own.

Improvements?
You'll find that your pool disks are going to be somewhat of a bottleneck with only 2 VDEVs... maybe consider how you would add more.
Do I use a Metadata vdev?
Maybe that could take some of the load from your pool disks, so would also be a better consideration for the SSDs.