Build an "enterprise" backup box

Status
Not open for further replies.

Conti93

Cadet
Hello, I'm Matt from Italy.
I work as a SysAdmin, and I'm seeking advice to build a backup NAS for our 2 Qnap.
At the moment we have a Qnap TS-470 with 4 3TB HD in RAID5 and a TVS-1271 with 8 3TB HD in RAID5 + 4 500GB Sammy 850 Pro as cache, for a grand total of almost 30TB.. To backup somewhere.
We have a 30/30 Mpbs fiber internet, so cloud backup is not viable. The easiest alternative is an "offsite" backup NAS to Rsync the two NAS. It will be placed in a dependance, so quietness is a must (or at least, I'll try..).
I was planning to get at least 12 WD Red 4TB HD (2 Raidz composed by 6-7 HD each, or 2 Raidz2 composed by 8 HD if the budget permitts..), a 16 (/20/24) bays rackmount case, supermicro board with a Xeon (don't know which for now), decent PSU and... 16? GB of ECC RAM. A handful of Noctua fans and a NH-U12 should keep the NAS cool & quiet.
Now: This machine will run (almost) only at night, syncing ONLY the data between the other 2 Qnap over gigabit eth; will 16GB of RAM be enough?
Also: I can't seem to find a used Supermicro 16/20/24 bays rackmount case in Italy, or even in Europe: The only ones that I can find are brand new Case Logic from servercase.uk or similar, but none of them seems to have 120mm fans (like the Norco with the proper aftermarket fan bracket..). Does someone know where to find a decent case in Europe?

TL; DR: Are 16GB of RAM enough for 30TB used for nightly 10-100Gb RSync? Where the heck can I find decent cases in Europe/Italy?

Thank you.
Mattia

Last edited:

Conti93

Cadet
After a bit of discussion on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/freenas/comments/48o9v0/big_freenas_backup_box/

I've been brainstorming on the net all the evening, and I was trying a C612 build to overcome the 32GB RAM limit:
- MB Supermicro X10SRH-CLN4F 549,90€
- CPU Xeon E5-1620v3 314,71€
- RAM 2xSamsung 16GB compatible DDR4 Registered ECC DIMM 196,80€