NEW BUILD - Please Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

france1967

Dabbler
Hello everyone!

First of all i'm a total noob :) i currently own since 1 year a qnap 419 (atom+0.5 gb ram) 4x3 tb wd red for 24/7 flac music/HD video +2 streams, pc's mac and linux backups and data cloud.
In some cases it's REALLY SLOW, thereafter i'm going to sell it w/o disks and i want to definitively change the system in order to have a +5 years proof machine.
After had a lot of reading ( I'm not a computer expert and I don't speak english so well therefore reading this forum is not always easy for me, so please don't blame me if I ask already answered questions) i made my mind in this way:

case: cooler master silencio 650 with noctua fans (already have it)
psu: corsair rm650 gold (already have it)
cpu cooler: noctua NH-U12S (already have it)
HDD raidz2 6x3tb red (4 of them already have it)
mobo: supermicro X10SL7-F
cpu: xeon e3 1230 v3 or 1241 v3 ???
ram: ???

The questions are:

1) cpu: in order to use xeon 1241, that probably could be more future proof at the cost difference of 20 euros (1% of total cost), i have to upgrade bios? In that case, can i start up the board with a g3220 pentium, upgrade bios and then switch to the xeon? Bios upgrade on that kind of board is hassle free or it's risky?

2) ram: here in italy is very hard to find supermicro reccomended hynix or samsung memory whereas i can find kingstone. In order to have 32 gb can i use 4 x kvr16e11/8? Or else I must use only kvr16e11s8/4kf (16 gb). Still for future proof I would like to have 32 gb, are 16 gb really enough? wich other brand i can use in order to have 32 gb?

3) flashing to IT mode. Is that mandatory? someone could please link me a detailed child-proof step by step instruction for how to do that on this board?

Other suggestions?

Thanks to all those who participate in the discussion

Francesco

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Hello everyone!