Broken APT Repos

mobrien118

Dabbler
First, let me say that I'm absolutely loving this approach that TrueNAS SCALE is taking. I've been playing with it for several months now and appreciate being able to play with the Linux underpinnings.

I made a "mistake" the other day (just wanted to see what would happen) and ran "apt full-upgrade -y". This, of course, proceeds to force upgrade packages and settles dependencies by "forging ahead". Ultimately, it removed these essential packages: cifs-utils fuse libnvpair3 libuutil3 libzfs4 libzpool4 middlewared migrate93 nfs-ganesha nfs-ganesha-gluster nfs-ganesha-vfs openzfs python3-libzfs python3-midcli truenas truenas-samba zectl zfs

Obviously, those are needed for TrueNAS to function. Some were replaced by alternative packages, while others were removed. I was foolish to not take a snapshot, first, but NBD, this system is expendable or I wouldn't have done this in the first place.

The simplest "test fix" I've tried is to to simply install the "truenas" package (and I was waiting to post this to see if 21.04 would fix it on its own) and I get some dependency errors that are tricky to resolve, on their own:
Code:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 python3-libzfs : Depends: libnvpair1linux (>= 0.8.2) but it is not installable
                  Depends: libzfs2linux (>= 0.8.2) but it is not installable
                  Depends: python3 (< 3.9) but 3.9.2-2 is to be installed
 zectl : Depends: libnvpair1linux (>= 0.8.2) but it is not installable
         Depends: libzfs2linux (>= 0.8.2) but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

I notice that python3 has progressed to the 3.9.2 version, which is marked as incompatible, and doesn't have a backported version available. That's pretty straightforward. I might try to force it through to see just what happens with that version of Python and what breaks (maybe someone here already knows)