Boot Device Data Corruption

Status
Not open for further replies.

SIlverSix311

Cadet
Hey guys,
First time posting here, and I'm still somewhat new to FreeNAS as a whole. I just had a scrub show some corruption on my USB stick/s and I'm trying to figure out what I should do here.

Code:

[root@VILE-NAS] /boot/grub/locale# zpool status -xv
  pool: freenas-boot
 state: ONLINE
status: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data
		corruption.  Applications may be affected.
action: Restore the file in question if possible.  Otherwise restore the
		entire pool from backup.
   see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-8A
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0h6m with 1 errors on Tue Jun 27 16:05:29 2017
config:

NAME		STATE	 READ WRITE CKSUM
		freenas-boot  ONLINE	   0	 0	 1
		  mirror-0  ONLINE	   0	 0	 2
			da24p2  ONLINE	   0	 0	 2
			da25p2  ONLINE	   0	 0	 2

errors: Permanent errors have been detected in the following files:

/boot/grub/locale/nb.mo

I have 2 USB sticks in RAID1 I do believe. Just not sure how I should restore this file, or if there is something else I should do.
Thanks,
SilverSix311

rs225

Guru
What is your system specs, particularly RAM? Have you ever run a memory test on it?

I don't think that one file is very important, but how it happened is.

melloa

Wizard
Back-up your config and replace that USB stick. Get a new one and install fresh/import/volume and config. Also look into get a 2nd USB stick and mirror the boot to avoid future down time.

SIlverSix311

Cadet
I have 2 USB sticks mirrored.
As far as my system:
SUPERMICRO 4U 24-BAY 846E1-R900B X8DTE-F 2X L5520 8GB 24x TRAYS LSI 9210-8i with 56GB 10600R ECC Memory.
I have not run a memory test.

melloa

Wizard
Came up empty searching that error. Here the only reference I've found is yours :(

With that said, my recommendation still: save your config, reinstall, import volume and config. If you want to wait for other folks opinion, save your config ;)

nojohnny101

Wizard