Best share setup for Mac & Windows use?

pcmofo

Explorer
Hey guys, I've been using FreeNAS for about 7 years now and I'm on my second build. Things have been running great accessing multiple shares from both Mac and PC via CIFS/SMB and AFP but I'm trying to simplify things in my setup.

So my question is, what is the best way to setup my shares so that everyone on the network can access shared Media on Windows and Mac (10.11) and specific Mac users can access private shares for their own backups?

I currently have a setup where I have a few AFP shares tied to specific users. When you connect to the network you automatically see the FreeNAS box and can connect to it like any other network share and only you can see your own backup share. I have a single large media share setup as a CIFS/SMB share with guest access enabled. This way all Mac and windows users can access it as well as Plex.

My current setup has a few issues however.
- Mac users have to manually connect to the main CIFS/SMB share using the Go->connect to server command. This is super annoying and would be awful if I had to do that for backups too as the backups might fail if the connection dropped before the backups started. Why isnt't there an easier way to connect like Windows-> map network drive ? Connecting on startup is pointless as I sleep my mac all the time and startup scripts wont always keep me connected.

- With the upgrade to el Capitan it's apparent Apple is moving away from AFP... I'd like to move away from it too. It has become extra flaky after the upgrade. I do love that I can always see the share as a network connected device though.

Thanks guys!

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Create datasets for the Macs to use afp and time machine. Set quotas on these datasets and make the users own them.

For fileshares, use CIFS

pcmofo

Explorer
Create datasets for the Macs to use afp and time machine. Set quotas on these datasets and make the users own them.

For fileshares, use CIFS