beginner home server, low power, low budget

ErikS

Cadet
Hello everyone. I'm kinda new to servers. I have been crazy reading everything I could find, but I find myself running in circles at the moment. I need to make a start somewhere, but get stuck on what hardware to buy; especially motherboard.

I'm just scratching the surface of knowing what's possible, but for know I'd say I'd be using it for storing photo's, automate backups and perhaps some home automation. So I guess it doesn't have to be something really fancy expensive, because that's where the biggest problem arises: Budget. I can only get this done if it doesn't get crazy expensive. Both in buying components as in running the thing, with stupid high prices for electricity. So a good low power idle is kind of important as well.

So I've been looking into second hand. The nice supermicroboards can't be found second hand for a reasonable price at the moment. And as I've come to understand over here, the consumer boards I'd better not use as well. This kinda answers the question already, but I'm gonna ask it anyway. :eek: With the very limited budget I can get (both secondhand):

MSI B360M PRO-VDH / Pentium Gold G5600: from my understanding it should be plenty powerful for now. The intention is to play with it some time and upgrade the board to Fujitsu D3643-H or Fujitsu D3644-B and maybe upgrade the pentium to a i3 9100 when avaiable. I know these combinations get quite low in idle power consumption, but it would have me start with a consumer board. A definite no as I've come to understand here, or....?

The other option would be a Fujitsu d3446-s21 gs1 (it comes with an intel i5 6400). Price difference with previous is about 10 euro. Would this be the better choice of the two? This seems the more "professional" board to me, but my knowledge is limited on this part and I can't find that much information on home servers with this board. Would this give me a good base to start on?