Backups, UPS on R710

Status
Not open for further replies.

NASr710

Explorer
So finally got my NAS up and running. I am starting to store things there. Starting to look at my backup requirements. I have two 8TB RED NAS WDs, mirrored. I was planning on getting a cheaper 8TB drive for the backup. https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Barr...49995&sr=8-3&keywords=8tb+internal+hard+drive

I am running FreeNAS off a Dell r710 so i was going to use one of the empty trays to backup, and then take it off site. Do it once or twice per month. I looked at external drives but I don't believe the r710 has USB3.

Second question is if anyone has any recommendation for a not too expensive (100-150$) UPS for the R710. I have never used an UPS before so a little green there. I currently have two r710s running. The second one I am using as camera server running ubuntu and zoneminder; though I have thought about running windows and blueiris in a jail off just one box to save on energy.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Nothing wrong with a Barracuda in my book. Some may differ on that, but I use them for my primary storage pool instead of spending the extra money on NAS drives and I have not had bad service from them. Just last year I replaced a batch that had been running for 5 years.

As for the UPS, I usually buy APC brand but I have heard good things about these and I might try one next time I shop for a UPS myself:
https://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP1500AVRLCD-Intelligent-Outlets-Mini-Tower/dp/B000FBK3QK

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I have never used an UPS before so a little green there.
PS. The thing to watch for is the number of watts. That UPS I linked to is rated to carry a 900 watt load, but it will only do that for a very short time, possibly not long enough for FreeNAS to cleanly shutdown. My server is only pulling around 270 watts normally, but I got a big UPS like this to allow it to have enough time to shutdown if the power goes out.