Backup Software can't Access Dataset

MDRVa

Dabbler
Morning all:

I'm new to TrueNAS and very new to Scale. I initially installed Core, thinking that was "THE" free version of TrueNAS, only to learn that Scale is now the place to be. No data onboard yet, so I moved over.

When I had Core up and running, I had a great deal of trouble getting access to a designated backup dataset from Windows machines via multiple backup programs. I've added users to TrueNAS that match my Windows creds, but that didn't seem to matter. I couldn't seem to get TrueNAS to allow anything to perform a backup -- it was like the Samba share wasn't present. But I could browse, copy and do all the other things that were expected handling data.

Eventually, fiddling around with Core, I found a "Microsoft Account" checkbox said to allow Windows authentication on newer versions of Windows . . . like magic, everything worked.

1705519078465.png

Unfortunately, this apparently useful (but hopefully unnecessary) function has been removed from Scale as noted here:

https://www.truenas.com/community/t...osoft-account-truenas-scale-22-02-2-1.102882/

That leaves me with the cool new OS up and running and no way to back up from most software packages -- seemingly because the Windows side software isn't allowed to access the dataset.

Veeam can be made to work. If you manually add the path and put in the password pair, it sees the dataset and will run a backup. But only one job, as I found out to my annoyance after spending hours getting it to work. Just one of the joys of working with free versions, I suppose. Too bad, because otherwise Veeam would be a great answer. And it might still be for that one job, which of course isn't going to suffice.

Paragon and similar will back up manually if I browse to the drive and start the process. The backup runs and completes normally. But if I so much as close the program and reopen it -- much less try to schedule a backup, I get this:

1705501098093.png